Ashton School, Cork welcomes ‘The Young Offenders’ Past-Pupil Director

Peter Foott, past-pupil of Ashton School, Cork, award-winning director, producer and screenwriter, including of ‘The Young Offenders’ fame, was the guest of honour and speaker at his old school at prize day on Friday last, 13th October.  Ashton School is a Church of Ireland comprehensive school under the co-patronage of the Bishop of Cork, and the Cork Education and Training Board.

Co-Patrons of Ashton School, Cork Education and Training Board (represented by Mr Pat Kelvey), and the Right Reverend Dr Paul Colton, Bishop of Cork, with Peter Foott. Photo: Hilary Herbert

Mr John Deane, Chairperson of the Board of Management welcomed everyone before Mr. Adrian Landen, Principal, outlined the year’s activities and achievements in all areas of the school curriculum, including extra-curricular, complementing the commitment and dedication of staff and students.

Assisted by the Deputy Principal Ms. Anne Marie Hewison, Guest Speaker Peter Foott, Film Director and Producer of ‘The Young Offenders’ congratulated students and presented award winners with their prizes.  Mr. Foott outlined to students the importance of the ability to acknowledge  change in career direction positively, and being prepared for challenge in the world of film, and work in general.  He acknowledged the changes that have taken place in Ashton since he was been a student, with a completely new school building, and congratulated everyone involved in their endeavours.  In his interview with Ms. Burke English Teacher, he regaled the audience with the stories of ‘fun’ along with very long hours and hard work involved in all aspects of film-making, inspiring student listeners, and keeping everyone rapt with attention.

The Ashton School Hall of Fame Award was presented by Mr. John Deane to Peter Foott for his contribution to film production.

The evening concluded with Head Girl Emma Wilkinson and Head Boy Zach Lumley thanking everyone for their time and presence at this very special occasion in the school calendar.

(l-r) Head Boy, Zac Lumley, with Peter Foott, Dr Colton, and Head Girl, Emma WIlkinson.  Photo:  Hilary Herbert

The Des Deasy Memorial Trophy for Engineering was awarded to Ben Provan-Bessell.  The Hipwell Trophy for Business subjects was presented to Conor O’Malley.

The Pfizer Perpetual Trophy for Leaving Certificate Examination results were awarded to Diarmuid O’Donoghue.   The Rochelle Trophy for Junior Certificate Examination results was presented to Catherine Kelly.  First Year Merit Card prizes:  Fiona Corcoran, Daniel McCarthy, Maeve O’Halloran, Harry McDaid, Adam Delurey.  Corn Mhic Uistin awarded to Kyle Meiklejohn, and Caoimhe Gannon won the Corn an Amhairginigh.  The Cox Perpetual Trophy for European Languages was awarded to Caoimhe Gannon, and the Burke Trophy for Technical subjects was presented to Jay Anglin.

Ashton School Players Award for Contribution to Performing Arts won by Mark Sampson.

The Shereen Gokul Memorial Trophy for Girl’s Hockey was presented to Roisin O’Dea,  and the Andrew Chambers Memorial Trophy for Boy’s Hockey was awarded to Darragh Bateman.

The Victor Bond Memorial Trophy for Ashton School Junior Citizenship Award was presented to Kyle Meiklejohn.  The Ashton School Trophy for Senior Citizenship Student of the year presented to Rachel Warren-Perry.

Some members of the Board of Management of Ashton School, Cork with Peter Foott (l-r) John  O’Sullivan, Alison Flack, John Deane (Chairperson), Peter Foott, Adrian Landen (Principal), Archdeacon Adrian Wilkinson, Amanda Welch, and Dean Nigel Dunne.
Photo: Hilary Herbert


This entry was posted in Ashton School, Education, Schools in the Diocese. Bookmark the permalink.